The Joint Electricity Regulatory Commission (JERC) has set a tariff of Rs 7.12 / KWh on solar power projects of 485 kW and 900 kW projects installed on the Kala in the Union Territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

It also agreed to charge ₹ 6.82 / kWh and ₹ 4.98 / kWh for 3.2 MW and a 200 kW solar power project in Velugam and Athal, respectively.

However, the Commission found that DNH Power Distribution Corporation Limited (DNHPDCL) had failed to file a petition to obtain the tax levied on time and filed a complaint late. It stated that payments for these projects could only be approved from April 01, 2021. The consumer cannot be held liable for the failure of the distributing company (DISCOM) to apply on time.

The applicant will not be allowed to purchase power from these projects until FY 2020-21 but will be entitled to the purchase cost of power from April 01, 2021. It has instructed DISCOM to apply petition on time in the future and not to accept the unconventional approach.

DNHPDCL applied to determine the estimated price of energy from solar projects installed on the ground and solar projects on the roof. DISCOM requested the Commission that for solar projects included in FY 2016-17 and 2017-18, the prescribed tax should be determined in accordance with the 2015 regulations, and for the solar project submitted in 2019, the tax should be considered in terms of 2019 regulations.